Illinois Technology and Research Corridor - Illinois (USA)

Illinois Technology and Research Corridor - Illinois (USA)Situated in the suburbs and surrounding region of Chicago, the Illinois Technology and Research Corridor is a major centre for technology, as well as research and development. The corridor is one of the Chicago area's most important economic centers, in addition to the Golden Corridor along I-90, the Lakeshore Corridor around I-94, and the Industrial Corridor at I-55.

About the Illinois Technology and Research Corridor

The Illinois Technology and Research Corridor is a major business cluster and a hub for research and development, as well as technology and logistics companies. In addition to the headquarters and regional operations of several major companies, the corridor includes several industrial and business parks, universities and colleges, research centers, scientific institutions, medical centers and government offices. Among the office centers within the corridor is the Oak Brook Terrace Tower, an 800,000 square foot office tower and the tallest building in suburban Chicago.

The corridor features a variety of amenities and services, including shopping, entertainment, dining and accommodation. The 10,000-seat Convocation Center and Huskie Stadium at Northern Illinois University, the Cantigny historical museum and gardens, and numerous historic theatres are some of the area's major attractions. Located in Oak Brook, the upscale Oakbrook Centre is the largest open-air shopping centre in the United States. The corridor is also home to the Geneva Commons, Westfield Fox Valley in Aurora, and the Yorktown Center in Lombard.

Location and Transportation

Situated in the Chicago metropolitan area, the Illinois Technology and Research Corridor is focused along the communities that line Interstate 88. It includes areas of DuPage, Kane and DeKalb counties. Many communities are connected to downtown Chicago via regular commuter rail service operated by Metra. The corridor is also is also south-west of one of the world's busiest airports, Chicago O'Hare International Airport.

The corridor includes several growing cities and villages, including Aurora in Kane County. Aurora is the second most populous city in Illinois. The corridor also includes Naperville, one of the wealthiest communities in the United States and an affluent suburb of Chicago. The cluster also includes portions of several Chicago suburbs, including Batavia, Campton Hills, Elmhurst, Geneva, Lombard, North Aurora, Oak Brook, Oakbrook Terrace, St. Charles, Sugar Grove, Villa Park and Winfield. Clarendon Hills, Cortland, DeKalb, Downers Grove, Elburn, Glen Ellyn, Kaneville, Lemont, Lisle, Malta, Maple Park, Montgomery, Plano, Sycamore, Warrenville, West Chicago, Westmont and Wheaton are also situated partially or wholly in the technology and research corridor.


Towns and cities throughout the Illinois Technology and Research Corridor are the homes for several Fortune 1000 companies. A range of research, development, technology and logistics companies are headquartered or operate regional offices in the corridor. The area is also home to management, transportation, energy, manufacturing, distribution, agricultural and food, insurance, computer technology, chemical and telecommunications companies.

Companies represented in the corridor include major international firms BP, Alcatel-Lucent, Caterpillar, Devry University, Hyundai, Nissan Motors, Microsoft, McDonald's, SAP and Toyota. Headquarters for major store chain companies Ace Hardware, Aldi and OfficeMax are also based in the corridor. Other major companies based in the corridor include Acxiom, ADL Logistics, ConAgra Foods, First Alert, MetLife, Mitutoyo, Molex, Nalco, Nicor, Oberweis Dairy, Redbox, Sara Lee, Smithfield Foods, Sunshine Biscuits, SIRVA, Tellabs and Westell.

Education and Research Centres

From leading medical centers to major research universities, the Illinois Technology and Research Corridor is a significant hub for research and development. The corridor is the site of several major hospitals and medical centers, including Advocate Good Samaritan Hospital in Downers Grove, Central DuPage Hospital in Winfield, Edward Hospital in Naperville, and Rush-Copley Medical Center in Aurora. Two major research institutions are also located in the corridor. Situated in Lemont, the Argonne National Laboratory is the oldest national research institution in the United States. It was founded in 1946 and includes the Centre for Nanoscale Materials, the Argonne Leadership Computing Facility, and the Advanced Photon Source. Located in Batavia, the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory was launched by the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission in 1967. It is the site of the Tevatron particle accelerator and employs approximately 2,100 people.

Among the corridor's numerous educational institutions is the Illinois Institute of Technology, which is based in Wheaton and focuses on information technology and management studies. The corridor also includes the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy, a three-year magnet high school in Aurora. The Northern Illinois University, the second largest institution of higher learning in Illinois, is also situated within the technology and research corridor. The university's main campus and research facilities are located in DeKalb, while a secondary campus exists at Naperville. Private universities and colleges within the corridor include National-Louis University, Wheaton College, Elmhurst College, North Central College, Benedictine University, Aurora University and DeVry University. In addition, community colleges based in the area include the College of DuPage, Kishwaukee College and Waubonsee Community College.

In partnership with